• en

Edo Guber: APC Clears Airhiavbere, Agba, Ize-Iyamu, Imasuen, Others for Screening

Twelve candidates have so far bought the N50 million Expression of Interest and Nomination forms.

Ahead of the September 21 governorship election in Edo State, 12 aspirants would be participating in the screening process ahead of the its primary election coming up on February 17, the All Progressives Congress has said.

Arise News reports that the political contest to choose a viable candidate for the party in Edo State kicked off in January with 23 aspirants expressing interest.

But only 12 candidates have so far bought the N50 million Expression of Interest and Nomination forms.

The successful aspirants are a former Director of Finance and Administration at the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), General Charles Airhiavbere (Rtd); former Chairman of APC in Edo State, Col. David Imuse (Rtd); a businessman, Gideon Ikhine; ex-Minister of State, National Economic Planning, Prince Clem Agba; Senator representing Edo Central, Monday Okpebholo; former Deputy Governor, Lucky Imasuen; former governorship candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu and lawmaker representing Etsako federal constituency, Anamero Dekeri.

Others are a former Governor of Edo State, Prof. Oserhiemen Osunbor; APC South-South ex-Zonal Organising Secretary, Blessing Agbohmere; a member of the House of Representatives, Dennis Idahosa; immediate past Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security, Ernest Afolabi and politician, Emmanuel Momoh.

Meanwhile, a former minister of sports and special duties, Prof. Taoheed Adedoja has been chosen as head of the screening committee.

A statement issued in Abuja by National Organising Secretary of the APC, Suleiman Arugungu said the seven-man committee will be inaugurated later today, Thursday, February 8, at the National Headquarters of the APC in Abuja.

According to the statement, a five-man committee will equally be inaugurated for the screening appeal.

The appeal committee, which will be headed by Senator Ibrahim Danbaba and Smart Iheazor as secretary, also have Senator Ibrahim Oloriegbe, Adeoye Adelakum, Prince Darlington Dick, Lawal Abdullahi Kenken, Margaret Duru and Sani Danjuma.

The Screening Appeal Committee has Hon. Bisi Odewumi, Ngozi Ononiwu and Hon. Abu Bakar Sidiq as members.

Friday Olokor, Abuja