• en

Bola Tinubu Sworn In As Nigeria’s 16th President 

He said he will not allow his personal interest interfere with his official conduct.

Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has just been sworn in as the 16th president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Tinubu succeeds former President Muhammadu Buhari of the All-Progressive Congress as the new Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces.

He swore to not let his personal interest get in the way of his governance of the nation. 

The swearing in/oath taking took place on Monday at the Eagles Square Abuja at the ongoing inauguration ceremony.

Kashim Shettima was sworn in as his vice-president.

Tinubu was declared the President-Elect by the Independent National Electoral Commission, after winning the Presidential election on the 25th of February.

The Oath of office was administered by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Olukayode Ariwoola. President Tinubu swore his Oath of Allegiance around 10:37am, following Vice-President Kashim Shettima, who swore his Oath of Allegiance around 10:30am at the Eagle’s Square in Abuja.

Bola Tinubu of the All-Progressives Congress (APC), emerged victorious in the Presidential polls on the 25th of February, 2023, polling 8,739,249 votes to win the election.

Details later…

Ozioma Samuel-Ugwuezi