• en

10 Finalists Emerge For Access ART X Prize 2023

The best 2 finalists will be given a $10,000 grant to support their exhibition at the 2024 edition of ART X Prize.

The Access Holdings and the ART X Collective have announced 10 finalists for the highly contested Access ART X Prize 2023, which was designed to empower emerging artists and provide them with a platform to attain recognition.

The best two finalists – one Nigerian and a diasporan that would emerge winners of the Access Art X Prize – would be awarded a $10,000 grant to support their exhibition at ART X Lagos 2024.

The 10 finalists that emerged from over 3,000 applications received are made up of a diverse pool of talents in Nigeria and the African diaspora who were selected by a distinguished panel of renowned artists and cultural practitioners to ensure that their exceptional talent gets the accolade it deserved.

The 10 finalists for the Access ART X Prize 2023 are five Nigerians, namely Chidimma Nwafor, Chinwe Chigbu, Julius Agbaje, Roanna Tella, and Wale Matuluko, while Anne Mutema, Asmaa Jama, Dior Thiam, Edward Prah, and Lawrence Mwangi emerged from African/Diasporan contestants.

The non-Nigerians, according to the promoters of the art prize, were drawn from Ghana, Kenya, Senegal, Somalia, and Zimbabwe.

Furthermore, the Nigerian winner would be sponsored to a three-month residency at the famed Gasworks in London, while the diasporan winner would participate in a three-month residency at Yinka Shonibare’s GAS Foundation in Lagos.

Both recipients would also receive personalised mentorship, further highlighting Access Holdings’ and ART X Collective’s commitment to nurturing artistic growth and fostering cultural exchange.

The Access ART X Prize 2023 is being judged by an esteemed jury which includes Babajide Adeniyi-Jones (Photographer), Barthélémy Toguo (Artist), Daudi Karungi (Founder, Afriart Gallery), Emeka Ogboh (Artist), Gabi Ngcobo (Artist and Curatorial Director, University of Pretoria), and Yesomi Umolu (Director of Curatorial Affairs and Public Practice, Serpentine Galleries).

Previous winners of the prestigious prize included Dafe Oboro (2022 Nigerian Winner); Belinda Kazeem-Kamiński (2022 African/Diasporan Winner); Chigozie Obi (2021), Etinosa Yvonne (2019); Bolatito Aderemi-Ibitola (2018); Habeeb Andu (2017), and Patrick Akpojotor (2016).

Access Holdings is a leading multinational financial services group that offers commercial banking, lending, payment, insurance, and asset management services and strives to deliver sustainable economic growth that is profitable, environmentally responsible, and socially relevant, helping customers to access more and achieve their dreams.

ART X Collective creates platforms and experiences that celebrate, leverage and amplify Africa’s culture. Working closely with exceptional creatives and cultural entrepreneurs, the company seeks to develop energised, empowered and evolving identities for Africa through culture, taking inspiration from its homes – Lagos, Nigeria and Africa.

Dike Onwuamaeze

Follow us on: