• en

Cyril Ramaphosa Sworn In As President Of South Africa For Second Term in Office 

Ramaphosa has been sworn in for a second term as South Africa’s President, despite ANC’s failure to secure a majority.

Cyril Ramaphosa has been sworn in as the President of South Africa for a second term, despite the African National Congress (ANC) failing to secure a majority in the country’s elections which were held in May.

The swearing-in ceremony was steeped in tradition, with the President taking the oath of office administered by Chief Justice Raymond Zondo.

Before he was sworn in, an inter-faith prayer was held by various religious leaders, who all said prayers for the newly sworn in President that he will lead the country aright.

The inauguration was attended by dignitaries from around the globe, as well as prominent South African political figures, business leaders, and members of civil society. Nigeria’s President, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, as well as former President of Nigeria, Olusegun Obasanjo, were present at this event.

However, the uMkhonto weSizwe (MK) party did not attend the inauguration as they had announced on Monday that they will be boycotting Ramaphosa’s inauguration in protest of the ANCs alliance with the Democratic Alliance (DA) party to form a government of National Unity.

Ramaphosa is expected to appoint a cabinet soon after the inauguration, which is to include his new coalition partners – the DA and three other smaller parties. Together, the coalition accounts for 68% of seats in parliament.

As he begins his second term, Ramaphosa faces high expectations from the electorate. Key priorities include revitalising the economy, ensuring energy security, and advancing land reform.

Ramaphosa first became president in 2018 when his predecessor, Jacob Zuma, was forced to resign because of corruption allegations – which he denied.

Ozioma Samuel-Ugwuezi

Follow us on: