• en

Ramaphosa, Malema, Others Sworn In MPs During South Africa’s 7th Parliament Inaugural Sitting

ANC President Ramaphosa was among the first to be sworn in as South Africa’s 7th Parliament began its inaugural session.

The first sitting of South Africa’s National Assembly took place at the Cape Town International Convention Centre on Friday, marking the beginning of the 7th Parliament.

Among the first group of MPs sworn in were African National Congress (ANC) President Cyril Ramaphosa and his Deputy, Paul Mashatile.

Chief Justice Raymond Zondo convened the session, which follows the ANC’s significant loss of 71 seats in the general elections, dropping from 230 seats in the 6th Parliament to 159 seats in the current assembly.

The venue outside the chamber was bustling with activity as MPs gathered. Ramaphosa, who is a nominee for the position of President, was sworn in alongside former Chief Whip Pemmy Majodina and Ronald Lamola. Former Ministers Malusi Gigaba and Dina Pule have also returned to Parliament.

Following the swearing-in of all MPs, the next steps will include electing the Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, with the election of the President scheduled for Friday as well.

The process of swearing in MPs for the seventh democratic Parliament commenced with MPs being called in batches of ten to take the oath. Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) leader Julius Malema and his deputy, Floyd Shivambu, were among those sworn in, as were Patriotic Alliance (PA) leader Gayton McKenzie and his MPs.

Presiding over the ceremony, Chief Justice Zondo stated, “After I have countersigned the certificates, members will receive one of the certificates for their records. Each certificate will be sent to the members through their party representatives. The presiding officer will now call out the names, but I also want to inform the house that the presiding officer as well as his assistant officers have taken their oath or affirmation before me.”

Follow us on: