• en

Controversy Trails Edo APC Governorship Primaries as Two Candidates Emerge

“I hereby certify that Monday Okpepholo, having scored the highest votes, is declared winner and duly returned as APC candidate for the election.”

There was controversy on Saturday at the Edo State All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primaries as two candidates emerged winner.

The primary election was conducted to pick the party flàg bearer for the September 21, governorship election in the state. 

Member of House of Representative, Mr. Denise Idahosa, who represents Ovia Federal Constituency, was earlier announced winner by the  Chairman APC, Primary Election Committee and Governor of Imo State, Sen. Hope Uzodimma, at Protea Hotel, while Senator Monday Okpebholo was declared winner by the Returning Officer for the election, Dr. Stanley Ugboaje at the residence of Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

The Uzodimma-led committee while announcing Idahosa as winner, said he scored 40,453 votes to beat 11 other aspirants. 

He said the other aspirants score are as follows: Prince Clem Agba 100 votes, Monday Okpebholo 100 votes, Sunday Dekeri 2,030 votes, Osagie Ize-Iyamu 2 votes, Gideon Ikhine 700 votes, David Imuse 400 votes, Charles Airhiavbere 162 votes Oserhiemen Osunbor 180 votes, Blessing Agbomhere 50 votes, Ernest Umakhihe- 2 votes and Lucky Imasuen-2 votes.

According to Uzodimma who was flanked by the deputy chairman of the committee and governor of Cross River State, Sen. Bassey Otu; committee Secretary, Lawan Garba and other members, said: “This is the certify that Dennis Idahosa having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby Declares winner of the primary election.

He explained that members of the Committee arrived Benin on Friday and had critical discussions with all stakeholders and conducted the primaries.

Similarly, the Returning Officer for the election in the second primary, Dr. Stanley Ugboaje, in announcing the results, said Sen. Monday Okpepholo emerged winner with 12,145 votes while Idahosa scored 5,536 votes to emerge second.

“I hereby certify that Monday Okpepholo, having scored the highest votes, is declared winner and duly returned as APC candidate for the election,” Ugboaje said.

Earlier, some persons suspected to be political thugs numbering over 100 stormed the venue of the second primary and disrupted the collation and announcement exercise.

During the disruption, the thugs beat up journalists covering the exercise and destroyed their cameras, warning that they don’t want to see anybody.

Journalists were however surprised that despite the presence of armed security personnel at the venue, the thugs were able to wreak havoc on them.

Adibe Emenyonu in Benin City

Follow us on: