• en

Tobi Amusan Bags Third Consecutive Diamond League Trophy

She is now the second woman in Diamond League History to win three consecutive 100m hurdle championships.

Nigeria sprint icon, Tobi Amusan, has emerged as the winner of the Diamond League trophy for a third consecutive time.

Amusan won the fiercely contested 100-meter hurdles race on Sunday night in Oregon by coming in first with a timing of 12.33 seconds. This victory was her third straight triumph in the same category in the Diamond League.

Amusan had a good start and held her lead throughout the race on Sunday. She overcame the last obstacles with tenacity and finished in a season-best time of 12.33 seconds. In 12.38 seconds, Jasmine Camacho-Quinn of Puerto Rico came in second. Keni Harrison of America came in third with a time of 12.44, while Danielle Williams of Jamaica, the Budapest World Champion, came in fourth with a time of 12.47s.

After a lacklustre performance in Budapest, Amusan strongly rebounded, becoming just the second woman in Diamond League history—after Dawn Nelson-Harper—to win three straight 100-meter hurdle championships.

Ozioma Samuel-Ugwuezi

Follow us on: