• en

President Tinubu Replaces Nigeria’s Military Top Brass, Police Chief, Customs Boss

Maj. Gen. Musa is new Defence Chief, Maj. Gen. Lagbaja new Army Chief, Rear Admiral Ogalla is Chief of Naval Staff, AVM Abubakar is Chief of Air Staff and DIG Egbetokun is Acting IGP.

Nigeria President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs, the Inspector General of Police, and the Comptroller-General of Customs.

A statement released by the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation on Monday evening, read: “President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR, has approved the immediate retirement of all Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, Advisers, Comptroller-General of Customs from Service as well as their replacements with immediate effect.”

The new appointments include Mallam Nuhu Ribadu as the National Security Adviser, Maj. Gen. C.G Musa as the Chief of Defence Staff, Maj. T. A Lagbaja as the Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla as the, Chief of Naval Staff, AVM H.B Abubakar as the Chief of Air Staff, DIG Kayode Egbetokun as the Acting Inspector-General of Police, and Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye as the Chief of Defense Intelligence.

Tinubu also approved the appointments of two (2) additional Special Advisers, and two (2) Senior Assistants.

Hadiza Bala Usman was name Special Adviser, Policy Coordination, while Hannatu  Musa Musawa was named Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy.

Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel is Senior Special Assistant , National Assembly Matters  (Senate) and Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim  Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters  (House of Representatives).

The President also approved the appointments of Military Officers, who include Col. Adebisi Onasanya as Brigade of Guards Commander, Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf, 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja; Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa 177- Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State; Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim 102- Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger; and Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote 176- Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja. The appointments of Military officers in the Presidential Villa were also approved and announced.

Ozioma Samuel-Ugwuezi

Follow us on: