• en

Incumbent Governor Duoye Diri Wins Bayelsa State Election

He won with a total of 175, 196 votes, followed by APC’s Sylva with 110,108 while LP’s Eradiri got 905 votes.

The Independent National Electoral Commission, has announced the incumbent governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri of the People’s Democratic Party as the winner of the off-cycle gubernatorial election that took place on Saturday. 

The returning officer, Professor Faruq Kuta announced the results on Monday afternoon at the state collation centre in Yenagoa.

Out of the eight local government areas results declared, Diri polled 175, 196 votes, while the All-progressives Congress candidate, Timiprey Sylva followed with 110,108 votes. The Labour Party candidate, Udengs Eradiri clinched a total of 905 votes.

The total of votes cast was 291,212 votes and the total of accredited voters were 372,000, while the number the number of valid votes cast was 287,554

The local government areas, where election results had been collated and declared include Southern Ijaw, Brass, Nembe, Kolokuma/Opokuma, Yenagoa, Ogbia, Ekeremor and Sagbama.

Chioma Kalu